The Division of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology is led by Division Chief, Dr. Amanda Fox, and is comprised of subspecialty trained faculty members who are clinical experts in caring for the full spectrum of patients with cardiovascular or thoracic disease. Members of UT Southwestern’s Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology Division care for over 1000 patients per year who undergo cardiac, aortic, and thoracic surgeries, as well as endovascular repairs, percutaneous interventions and hybrid procedures. These surgeries and interventions include state-of-the-art programs in areas such as valve and coronary artery bypass graft surgery, aortic surgery and endovascular repair, minimally invasive valve surgery, cardiac and lung transplantation, ventricular assist device implantation, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation support (ECMO), transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR), MitralClip repair, minimally invasive video assisted and robotic thoracic surgery, adult congenital heart disease, electrophysiology (EP) lab procedures, and interventional pulmonology. Our division members manage perioperative care of patients undergoing these surgeries and procedures at UT Southwestern Medical Center’s William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital as well as at the Dallas Veterans Affairs (VA) Medical Center of the VA North Texas Health Care System.

    This diverse environment of complex clinical cases allows our Division’s faculty to provide leading-edge clinical care while also providing exceptional clinical education for medical students, anesthesiology residents, and cardiothoracic anesthesiology fellows who rotate clinically on the Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesia service. The Division’s comprehensive educational offerings include a formal didactic curriculum, an innovative collection of digital modules for residents, weekly transesophageal echocardiography (TEE) review conferences, quarterly journal clubs and workshops such as our annual Hands-On Perioperative Ultrasound Course. All of the Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology Division’s faculty members teach perioperative TEE routinely in order to accommodate desired training in both basic and advanced perioperative TEE competency.

    The clinical expertise of the Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology Division’s faculty is also illustrated by Division members’ regional, national and international participation in clinical education, research, and professional society committee representation. Members of the Division are actively involved with medical professional societies such as the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA), the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists (SCA), the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists (TSA), the American Society of Echocardiography (ASE), the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS), and the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA). These efforts are directed towards expanding knowledge and advancement in the field of cardiovascular and thoracic anesthesiology.

    The faculty of the Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology Division are involved in multiple clinical and translational research studies. These studies include outcomes research that includes a prospective perioperative genomics, biomarker and outcomes research study that biobanks samples and collects cardiovascular and renal outcomes data for patients undergoing cardiac surgeries. Members of the division are actively involved with quality and safety research initiatives related to the perioperative cardiovascular surgical patient. This includes a collaborative research study on efficacy of operating room to intensive care unit patient care handovers. Research initiatives within the Division also focus on expanding the role of perioperative echocardiography in clinical decision making.

    Division Members

    Amanda Fox, M.D., MPH - Division Chief    
    Marco Aguirre, M.D., FASE Sreekanth Cheruku, M.D. Steven Hill, M.D.
    Linda Douning, M.D. Philip Greilich, M.D. Isaac Lynch, M.D.
    Norman Huang, D.O. Ravi Joshi, M.D. Chen Shi, M.D.
    Lisa Morse, M.D. Daisuke Nonaka, M.D. Suzanne Dellaria, M.D.
    Alycia Wanat, M.D.