top of page

Welcome to The Jenkins Society – a membership organization for ALL current and former Faculty, Trainees, Medical Students, Advanced Practice Providers and Staff of the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management.

The Jenkins Society honors the memory of Dr. "Pepper" Jenkins, preserves the insignia or seal of the McDermott Distinguished Chair in Anesthesiology and Pain Management, and cultivates a community of former and current members of the department with programs, activities and events. Dr. Jenkins’ efforts to develop an Anesthesiology residency training program at UT Southwestern during the 1950s has now culminated into a department rich in history and tradition.  This program  has trained anesthesiologists who are now practicing in all parts of the country and abroad with representation in every sub-specialty of anesthesia. The Jenkins Society, through its members, carries on his legacy.

Please be sure to register your membership

Should your information change (e.g. address, last name), please update your membership.

Membership Benefits

  • Board Certification Prep Assistance - to assist new resident graduates with their exam preparation during this transition in their lives

  • Fellowship & Service - to unite and rally members around common interests and bonds, events, and service opportunities sponsored throughout the year

  • Annual Reunion - to reconnect and promote relationships, an annual reunion is held each year at the ASA (to receive the invite, please make sure your information is up-to-date)

  • Networking opportunities - to facilitate career development and advancement opportunities within the field and chosen sub-specialty area(s)and connect members geographically

Global Jenkins Society Membership

History of the Jenkins Society

In 1955, the UT Southwestern Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management formed under the leadership of M.T. “Pepper” Jenkins. The Jenkins Society emerged out of informal discussions between Drs. Sharon Oxford, Peggy Wilson, James Sims, Edward R. Johnson, and Buddy Giesecke as a means to unite a group of individuals who have supported or been a part of the department.


This dynamic department has experienced growth and seen tremendous change over the past 60 years, culminating into our recent transition into two new state-of-the-art academic training hospitals, Clements University Hospital and the new Parkland Memorial Hospital. These two hospitals, along with Zale Lipshy University Hospital, Children’s Health, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital, and the VA Medical Center serve as the residency training sites, providing one of the most comprehensive anesthesia training experiences in the country. Considering the large size of this training program, this society has grown quickly and become inclusive of medical students, residents, fellows, faculty, alumni, administrative staff, and other supportive individuals who have helped develop, represent, and sustain the department.

Marion Thomas "Pepper" Jenkins, M.D.
Founder of the Department of Anesthesiology in the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School


It is my pleasure to keep you informed on current events in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management. Please feel free to share your thoughts, concerns, and member updates with me.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Ravi Bhoja, M.D.
Associate Professor

UT Southwestern Medical Center
5325 Harry Hiines Blvd.
Dallas, Texas 75390

Phone:  214-648-5626

(Above) Lurlene Lamb, nurse in charge of recovery room since it opened in 1949, attends a patient with Dr. Jenkins in 1965

bottom of page